Holycross College Nagercoil
Annual Sports Meet - 2019-2020
Holy Cross College (Autonomous), Nagercoil celebrated its 55th Annual sports day on 15th February 2020. All the students and the staff members took part in the celebration. The programme commenced at 10.am.Accompanied by the band, the Road Safety Patrol led the dignitaries to the dais. It was followed by a prayer song invoking God’s grace to host the events well. Dr. A. Lesly Fathima, Assistant professor, Department of physics delivered the welcome address. The chief guest, Dr. K.Xavier Jothi Sargunam, Senior Manager, SDAT, sports department, govt. of Tamil Nadu, hoisted the National flag and took the salute of the impressive March Past of the students. Mrs. V.Daisy Rani, central Industrial security force, Trivandrum & Mrs. N.Latha, superintendent, Indian railway, Nagercoil the guests of honour hoisted the college flag and lit the Olympic torch respectively. A brief report of the sports activities and achievements of the college was read out by the Director of Physical Education, Dr. J.Christy Celine Mary. It was followed by the felicitations of the secretary, Dr. Sr.Gerardin Jeyam, and the principal, Dr. Sr. Anne Perpet Sophy. The chief guest, Dr. K.Xavier Jothi Sargunam, in his address cherished the students for their performance in March Past and appreciated them for their interest in sports activities. He also applauded the enthusiastic young sports stars who were University, State, National and International level champions in various fields of sports. Then the chief guest declared the Meet open. Events of the day started and the students actively participated in various events with full sports man spirit. The game organized for staff (teaching & non-teaching) saw an impressive participation. After that the prizes were distributed. Individual champion trophy was awarded to Miss. S. Malar, II M.A. History and the Overall Champion trophy was bagged by Department of History. The cultural programme (dance, silambam and pyramids formation) gave an insight into the student talents. Ms.J.Alisha Josephine,Assistant professor, Department of English (S.F) proposed the vote of thanks.